Skip to content

On being afraid of the moment

April 24, 2010

I have always believed that there is a moment, somewhere in my future, where I will know what to do and accomplish and and I will be flawless and unafraid. I believe that in this moment, somewhere in the middle of it, I will be great and accomplish great things. And I have let my belief in this moment rule out the possibility of action in the here-and-now.

That belief is gone.

That moment won’t come.

The only moment I have in which to act is the present one, and I am afraid that the present moment doesn’t bring with it great feelings of competence and eloquence and all the things I hoped for.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

