Skip to content

Obligatory New Year’s Eve Navel Gazing

December 31, 2009

Happy New Year! May 2010 be a little less exciting for you, if you have had a year lke mine, but may it be at least as fulfilling as 2009. I hope the luck comes a little easier and the love as richly and unconditionally as ever.

This year I:

  • Got and quit jobs in two failing companies
  • Graduated from a master’s program
  • Went to church for the first time
  • Ended a relationship with a boyfriend of three years
  • Made some new friends, including C and M
  • Started to write again, including this blog
  • Admitted to having a disability
  • Moved into my own apartment
  • Discovered how amazing my family is
  • Found out that I’m stronger than I think I am
  • Wondered if I’d held on to my dreams for too long
  • Learned to bake better bread
  • Decided not to live in baseline survival

There have been so many other things that have happened this year. It’s been a tumultuous, up-and-down journey that I wouldn’t have been able to make it through had the things on the list above not happened. There have been so many moments this year when I have wanted to walk away, to give up, and something on this list of events has enticed me to stay just a little longer. To hope a little more.

And I’m glad I did.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

